Driving an SUV is a Gas

by mbethard


I love lacrosse, I love lacrosse, I love lacrosse…..

That’s what I say to myself every day of every week, when I drive my boys to twelve practices a week, and at least two games and four tournaments a weekend, which require me to drive an SUV so I can fit loads of lacrosse players – and their equipment –  in my car.  And you know what that means: usually two stops at the gas station each week, which these days is adding up to over $175 a week.  Yikes.

saving money on gas

Luckily, the app world feels my pain, and they have come up with a way to help me out – and you – even if your kids don’t play lacrosse! They’ve started to develop applications for most smartphones out there to help us find the cheapest gas in town. I tried out several applications and narrowed the selection to two that I found the easiest to use: GasBuddy and YP Yellow Pages & Gas Prices. Take a look:

GasBuddy

Available for Android, iPhone and Blackberry. It launches quickly, with a big, green gas-pump button in the center of the screen labeled “Find Gas Near Me.” Just push it, and prices pop up based on your GPS location. You can sort by distance or price. GasBuddy also claims to award points for every gas price reported toward weekly prize give-aways of a $250 gas gift card. ( I haven’t won yet…. )

saving money on gas saving money on gas  saving money on gas

User Reviews – Overall Rating 4.5
Total Downloads: 295,666
5 star 181,103
4 star 98,421
3 star 13,571
2 star 1,057
1 star 1,514

YP Yellow Pages & Gas Prices

This app is currently only available for Android, which I’m not crazy about, but it not only offers the search for great gas prices, but also other conveniences. Need a cup of coffee, want to find a good pizza place in town? Like to read menus or reviews before choosing a restaurant? How about finding gas prices near you plus access to coupons at your finger tips – providing you with discounts from your favorite local businesses? The YP(SM) app, in the YPmobile® suite of products, is your easy-to-use guide for local info and deals near you.

saving money on gas saving money on gas saving money on gas

User Reviews – Overall Rating 4.5
Total Downloads: 43,013
5 star 27,758
4 star 10,663
3 star 2,462
2 star 511
1 star 1,626
Take a look at these apps, and see what you think. If you know of some you like even better, tell us about them in the comments section.  And….if you can ever fit a spare lacrosse player in your back seat – equipment included – let me know.  I always have extra!
saving money on gas

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Fredericksburg

5202 Jefferson Davis Highway, Fredericksburg, VA

 Sales: (888) 544-8122

 Service: (800) 398-9495

 Parts: (800) 398-9362

 
 
